Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Retained List

Manager John Coleman announces who will stay and go for next season

24 June 2020

It’s the part of the season John Coleman admits he hates but he has now decided on who will stay and who will leave the Wham Stadium for the 2020/21 campaign.

The Reds had the biggest squad they have ever had last season and Coleman says next season will be different.

“We will be working with a much smaller squad,” said the Stanley boss.

The Reds have made a new offer to winger Jordan Clark, who is now out of contract.

Captain Seamus Conneely has signed a new two-year deal while options have been taken on defenders Callum Johnson, Ben Barclay, Mark Hughes, Joe Maguire, Harvey Rodgers and Harry Perritt,

Striker Ozzy Zanzala has been released by the club. The former Derby striker has been at the Wham Stadium since January 2018 and scored eight goals last season but struggled to hold down a regular first team place.

“That has been a difficult decision,” said Coleman. “We could have kept Ozzy another season but he is getting to the crossroads of his career where he needs to be playing regular football and we respect that. Ozzy is a great lad.”

Already released were Dimi Evtimov, Phil Edwards, Zaine Francis-Angol, Wilson Carvalho and Erico De Sousa.

Lewis Doyle, Lewis Gilboy, Alex O’Neill, Andrew Scott and Matty Williams have also been released by the club.

Those under contract are: Sean McConville, Ross Sykes, Colby Bishop, Sam Finley, Joe Pritchard, Dion Charles, Lamine Sherif, Toby Savin, Reagan Ogle and Zehn Mohammed.

Niall Watson has also been offered a new deal.

Everyone at Accrington Stanley wishes all those who are leaving all the best in their future careers.


Advertisement block