Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

McConville in final four

16 October 2017

Club News

McConville in final four

16 October 2017

Sean McConville has made the final shortlist for the 2017 Northwest Football Awards for League Two.

The Stanley winger is up against Carlisle United's midfielder, Nicky Adams, shortlisted alongside Michael Rose of Morecambe and Blackpool's Kelvin Mellor.

The winner will be announced on November 13th at Emirates Old Trafford.

In the Premier League Player of the Year category, Liverpool's Sadio Mane and Manchester City's David Silva will compete with Tom Davies of Everton, Burnley's Tom Heaton and Manchester United's Ander Herrera.

In the Championship category, Blackburn's Derrick Williams goes up against Ben Pearson of Preston North End and Dan Burn of Wigan Athletic.

In League One, Fleetwood Town's Cian Bolger takes on Oldham's Peter Clark, Callum Camps of Rochdale and Bolton Wanderers' David Wheater.

And the shortlist for the player of the year for the National League is made up of Ryan Astles of Chester, Andy Cook of Tranmere Rovers, Barrow's Moussa Diarra and Macclesfield's George Pilkington.

In the fiercely competitive rising star category, Stanley's Reagan Ogle didn't make the final shortlist. Alan Browne of Preston North End is up against Mitch Hancox of Macclesfield Town and Ben Tollitt of Tranmere Rovers as well as Trent Alexander-Arnold of Liverpool, Manchester City's Phil Foden and Angel Gomes of Manchester United.

The Fine Bedding Company Women's Player of the Year finalists are Jamie Lee McDowell of Chester, Everton's Gabby George, Caroline Weir of Liverpool and Manchester City's Lucy Bronze, who has recently signed for Lyon.

In the women's rising star category, the shortlist consists of Niamh Charles of Liverpool Ladies, Megan Finnigan of Everton Ladies, Chester's Becky Tebb and Manchester City's Keira Walsh.

The finalists in the inaugural best Fan TV Channel – a new category recognising the popularity of the fan-led social media movement – are FullTimeDevils (Manchester United fans), BlueMoonRisingTV (Man City fans), TheRedmenTV (Liverpool fans) and Toffee TV (Everton fans).

Laura Wolfe, managing director of Wolfesport and the Northwest Football Awards, said: “It's been another very strong year in the North West footballing world, from non-league right the way through to some of the biggest and most famous clubs on the planet.

“The Northwest Football Awards turns 10 this year and has grown in popularity and influence year-on-year, due to its inclusive approach to the game in the region – and we are delighted to celebrate this milestone year for the awards, too.”

All awards will be announced and presented at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 13th November, hosted by the BBC's Dan Walker.

For more information, please visit:

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account